Product reviews for Windlass Cobra Steel Kindjal

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Reviews
Great value
This is an awesome value.   Great home self defense tool.  Pointy, great rubber grip, fairly light.  Pay extra for sharpening!  Finish is not perfect.  Great 1st short sword.  Can't go wrong with the Kindlal!
| September 23, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Cobra Steel Kindjal
This is a very nice 21st Century version of a classic blade pattern.
Good weight, decent balance, really good steel and a GREAT handle!

On first handling this blade I was stuck by several thoughts the first of which was  " Holy $!*% I better be careful with this thing"

The tip has a very sharp point almost like a rapier and after a few passes with a diamond stone the blade took a razor edge.

My second thought was  " This was nicely done, l really like the handle and this is very good steel."

I will doubtless buy the Lakonia  and then start asking Windlass to make a Gladius and Pugo in Cobra Steel
Matthew | June 16, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Super pointy.  Sheath is good.  Edges sharpened, but not "sharp".  Won't cut paper.  Satin finish is not very good (blemishes/rubs).  Rubber handle is a little ashy (dried out).  I rubbed a small amount of plumber's silicone grease on the handle.  The handle is better, darkened up, and still grippy.
Despite my critique, you won't find a better short sword for the money.....maybe not even for twice the money.   I believe it is full tang.  This short sword should be pretty indestructible if not grossly abused.
| April 27, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Pretty much everything my 110 pound butt ever wanted!! Wanted it for four years. Just never had the extra cash or time. Until Now. The paracord is an interesting idea - but not required. Diggin' the grip. I read a while back that these handles will corrode on you, but I can't wait to make my own handle...so :)
Yeah - I gave it five stars, but...
The blade is scuffed up out of the box, and there's a nick in the blade like someone at fedex played with it...which totally blows - I basically got the personalized edition on a butt-smeared blade! Also should have been specific on the placement of my initials. They put it up and to the right of the logo, instead of directly and vertically adjacent - matching the logos height. (Thanks a lot)Looks like my new knife has bumper stickers!!
THIS IS NOT SHARP!! Yeah sure you might be able to SAW a cut into your hand or pant-leg after say 10 or 20 attempts. Definitely going to have to regrind the un-even grinds all the way down - since some lazy-mazy decided to stop 3" from the hilt. Will re-review after honing. I'm sure it'll be great...but what an ugly thing to wait four years for. Definitely not the sheen from the picture or Skallagrim videos.
Sigh - Still love it...Still wanna be it's daddy!
Charles | May 23, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
For the price it's a great little peice that being said, I have added a 550 cord wrap to the handle cause I have large hands and the grip feels great now. The factory edge couldn't cut paper so had to touch it up. The price range of this I am not upset about any of that. Once I put it thru some paces I'll update more
Mike | May 21, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
When I received  my kindjal, I was impressed by the weight and look of the sword. The sheath is snug so the sword would not come out easily unless  you want it to.. the only problem I have, is that I have big hands, and the handle is quite thin....so I bought some tennis handle grip to bulk up the thickness, and it feels just rights now.
Isaiah | January 14, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
love it. good grip, came fairly sharp, and nice sheath! worth it!
Gabriel | July 16, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
From the picture this seems to be a thinner and more expensive version of the Qama (ID#400164).
martha | July 26, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)