Product reviews for Primitive Bowie Knife

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Reviews
Primitive Powie
Great Piece of Work - Excellent Display Piece
John | August 12, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Almost Excellent
I've purchased and physically compared this knife to the made in Pakistan low end lookalike and the brand name famous movie designer version and found this to be by far the best constructed of the batch that would outperform any of the rest.  The only shortcoming was in the feel of the handle, with the brand name knife far more comfortable in the hand.  On the other hand, the brand name knife has a blade that's welded onto a hidden tang, so all bets are on this one for performance.  Oh, the three versions of the brand name are all pricier than this well forgerged classic.
Michael | June 06, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Primitive Bowie Knife
Nice knife, could clean the blade a little better before shipping
Alan | January 05, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Magnigicant
I am really impressed with this knife the way it feels and for such a large knife for me it is really well balanced-great product
William | September 13, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A little slice of history, I think
It is what I imagine a blacksmith in the 1840;s pioneer world would make as a combat knife, given the bowie's ancestry as a large butcher knife modified with quillions and clip point.
The exaggerated point would slice well in battle but would probably get damaged or get in the way when used as a camp knife.
I have reservations about the strength of the tang  and its connection to the blade, but that is a compromise for aesthetics and historical accuracy. It seems more prone to rust than other Windlass products.

I wanted it as an extreme form of bowie for my collection and it fits that bill fine in the price range.

As a combat or field knife I would rate it a little lower but think it would be serviceable. Note- the software wouldn't let me give it 4 stars.
Wallace | April 22, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very impressive. Well finished.
Duncan | September 09, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wow! Got it sharpened. Razor! Surprisingly nimble in the hand. Like it a lot.
Charles | February 13, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Just  received  it-excellent  blade,  sharpens well,  seems  to keep  edge  well, fittings  are  tight, suprisingly deft  and  balanced  for the  size, handle  is  not  full tang, I  drilled  a  hole for a lanyard, but  not  unexpected, cutting  tests-this  knife  slashed  through 2' limbs with  ease, no scratches  on  blade  afterward-so  far this seems  like a  well  made  large bowie,  well  worth the  price
Janus | May 23, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is nothing like the "Primitive Knife" that is sold on Amazon and Ebay. That Primitive is of poor quality with a sheath that is worse. No comparison.

This version of the "Western Bowie" has the best feel out of all the others. It is a huge knife but feels light and handles well. The swedge can be sharpened for the back cut, it does not need to be razor sharp like the main edge as it is the clip point that produces the main damage. This is a great knife if you are looking for an "Iron Mistress" type design. It handles amazingly well for a knife of this size.
Robert | August 14, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good looking knife. Better looking than any of the knives invented by Rezin Bowie for his psychopathic brother James.
It should make a good utility camp knife and small machette.
Martha | December 27, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)